An appreciation

23/06/2011 § 3 Comments

“Even the best writing is like taking potshots at the moon” Wei Wu Wei

I decided today to write an appreciation of my readers.

I don’t have a huge number of subscribers (less than 15) or a large number of daily readers (highest number of hits in a day 56, the average closer to 10). Sometimes my mind plays a numbers game – telling me that it would be “better” somehow if I had more readers, that I should seek out a wider audience. But a bigger part of me says that you can’t measure these things in mere numbers. That if I connect with just one person, in some small way, through writing this blog, then it is well worth while.

Besides, I like to think that what you lack in number you make up for in quality 🙂  Anyway, here’s a big thank you to all of you.

I honestly don’t know if I would still be writing this blog, week after week, if it wasn’t for the feedback I get.  It doesn’t take much to keep me going,  just the odd comment now and again, the occasional e-mail thanking me for what I’ve shared.

I like all the comments but the best moment for me comes when someone says that I have expressed what they’ve been thinking. I like this so much because it reminds me, once again, of how we are all connected. It reminds me that it is not really me writing this blog – it is all of us. At its best this blog is something I grab from the ether. I am not responsible for it – I am just the channel through which it passes.

I remember writing one piece (“What motivates us”) and thinking that I wasn’t at all sure if it was any good at all. Yet I received really positive feedback on it from several people. Other times, I think I have really captured something or said something of importance and yet nothing comes back at all.

I really like the quote of the top of the page because it describes exactly how I feel about my writing. No matter what the apparent subject, I am really trying to write about truth. Yet at the same time I know I can’t do it. It is not possible. “The Tao that can be named is not the eternal Tao.”, as the Tao Te Ching reminds us. So all I can do is keep taking potshots at the moon, and see what response I get.

Ultimately, I like to think that I’ll get to the point when I simply sit down, switch off my mind, record whatever comes out, share it and then let go. There will be no need for readers then, because ultimately the readers, the writer and the source of the words are all one.

I am not there yet. Or maybe I am – I just haven’t realised it…

§ 3 Responses to An appreciation

  • Finn Jackson says:

    “That if I connect with just one person, in some small way, … then it is well worth while.”

    There is only one person that writing this blog needs to connect with, and that is you.

    And the reason I read is to connect with bits of me that I have forgotten or didn’t know were there. “I just haven’t realised it…”

    🙂

  • Rory says:

    for me, writing also helps me crystalise my own thoughts.
    so it is not just about the audience
    but I suspect, without the potential for an audience, I’d write even less.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading An appreciation at Musings of an itinerant lawyer.

meta

